If there ever comes a day….

It’s Fathers Day. Happy Fathers Day to all the Dad’s, soon to be dads, and all the men who are like dads to special kids, and to those who would make excellent dads in the future.

This month it was Rae Lynn’s and my turn to bring you some inspiration using the June kit “Mister Man” from our local scrapbook store, The Paperie. You can check it out here, here and here. The kit was indeed masculine containing lots of brown neutral tones:

june paperie club kit 1

While working on the kit in May, I knew one layout I would be doing would be a tribute to my late grandfather. I used a quote from Winnie the Pooh for my title and decided to do a Vintage style layout. I found some of my favourite old pics of Poppy, Nanny and me when I was a little girl. I scanned them and printed them on my printer in a sephia tone. I was filling up with tears the whole time I was creating this layout and had my box of Kleenex on the table. Here is the layout I created:

lori smith-winnie the pooh quote--i miss you poppy-paperie june 2013 kit

and some close ups:

lori smith-poppy close up 3 lori smith-poppy close up 4 lori smith-poppy close up lori smith-poppy close up5

I toned down the paper in some areas using white acrylic gesso, I then used used Studio Calico mist in colors dark ands warm calico. I added some doilys, washi tape and stickers in the kit and other washi tape from Ranger, Autum leaves Flourish stamps, Maya Road wood buttons & Ranger Tim Holtz Adornments. I  created my title using the AC thickers in the kit as well as Ranger black sticker letters. I added Studio Calico wood veneers, Hero Arts Lace and Pearls, Evalicious badge, Tim Holtz Film strip, TCW clocks stencil & the 7 Gypsies clock stamp.

The title “If there ever comes a day when we can’t be together, keep me in your heart, I’ll stay there forever” was perfect for this layout.  I added my journaling with my favourite pen-the XS black PITT pen by Faber Castell. It says “You’ll always be in my heart. I miss you Poppy”

Lori

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “If there ever comes a day….

    • thanks Rexene. That layout about your mom was so beautiful and touching. We often get emotional when we scrapbook about our loved ones in heaven. Its very therapeutic because you can journal about your feelings and words you wish you could have said to them or would like to say to them now.

Leave a Reply

