Time to Catch Up

This is my first blog post in over a month. I’ve been working on a few projects, but have been unable to share them until now as they have been for layout tags,challenges and design team projects etc. Plus life has been a bit of a roller coaster for us lately. (We love being ON roller coasters-but only the ones in amusement parks!!!) Since my back/shoulder/arm/neck injury it takes me a lot longer to do the things I enjoy, including scrapbooking (and blogging about it). However, I do a few mins here and there, and eventually end up getting something done….in time!

Throughout June I will be posting some of the creations I have been working on the last few months (if my back/neck/shoulder/arm cooperates). I have been told by a few of my followers that you love my step-by-step photo tutorials when I create some of my layouts. You will be happy to know that I will be doing that at least once a month (maybe more!)

Remember I gave you a peek of this:

atlantis closeup

Well here is the full layout-Journey to Atlantis. In 2009 we went on our first trip together to the Bahamas. We left our resort and  got on a Water Taxi to the beautiful Island Resort of Atlantis:

The paper,MME enamel dots,velum heart and letter stickers were leftovers from the february Paperie Kit. (See my design team layouts from that kit here, here, here and here). I used lots of colorful washi tape and mist. That awesome arrow stamp (from MME) in the corner was from a previous kit.

Heres a close up of the letters:

atlantis letters close up 2 atlantis-letters close up

I used graphite Viva Ferro Metal Effect Color to add some texture and added dots with my white uniball signo pen. All I did was take the letters, stick them to my craft mat and added the Metal effect with a brush and allowed to dry.

atlantis-ink and metal effect

I used StazOn Jet Black ink for stamping on the acetate packaging paper (yes, I recycle most of my packaging if I can!!)

atlantis- recycle that packaging

Next I gathered some paint- greens and brown (Jeni Bowlin Brown Sugar and Stick Candy, and Mallard Green Silks)I added some pain to my craft mat.Then I mixed the greens slightly in the center to have 3 tones.

atlantis paint atlantis paint mix IMAG1532

Then I began coloring my palm tree with my paint brush I added brown to the tips and areas to make it more realistic:

IMAG1529

IMAG1533

And this was the final result:

atlantis palms

Then, I added a few embelishments and outlined my letters & white CS with my XS Black PITT pen.

I wish I was under a palm tree right now! … *sigh* 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Time to Catch Up

Leave a Reply

