The Making of a “cool” Layout

As promised here is my process of making the  “Mr. Cool” layout I did last week in the Crop Circles Blog Hop. WARNING: There are 21 pics in this post with instructions and technique so read when you have a few mins to spare.

I’m still trying to “kill a Kit” as my friend Krista would say. I’m attempting to use up my leftover stash from the February Paperie Club Kit  (& previous kits). If you want to see the other February kit layouts click here. To see how I made these layouts click here, here, here & here.

To start, I grabbed the October Afternoon paper Carousel. The multi colored circles were pretty, but I LOVED the orange pin stripe on the back. As soon as I saw this paper, I knew the exact pic I wanted to use. My hubby loves the color orange, and I had this pic of us at an Aerosmith outdoor concert I wanted to use. I grabbed my 6×6 TCW Chevron Arrows Stencil and my Studio Calico Mister Huey Clay mist. I had the stencil in 12×12 but I wanted the smaller arrows. I positioned the stencil where I wanted it to go, covered the edges with loose scrap paper and misted it.

stencil and mist

heres what I got:

cool2

And my stencil had lots of mist on it. I didnt want to waste it so I created ink splatters with it over the LO by pressing it into the paper in various places:

splat1

here…

splat2

here…

splat3

great way for controlled splatters!

splat4

splat5

Then I decided I wanted my misted arrows to go further down on the paper…so I grabbed the stencil, placed it over the lower portion of the already misted image as shown below:

relaying1

I added the scrap paper I previously used around the edges of the stencil as shown below. For a better flowing misted image, mist near the darker misted area:

relaying2

Heres what I got. It looks like the stencil was a bigger one that I misted only once.The mist looks darker here but it gets lighter as it dries. Plus we will be adding gesso later on!

misted

I added Ranger Sunset orange paint dauber and Tattered Angels Valencia Chalk board glimmer mist (with my finger after spraying on craft mat) to the top left corner:

orange paint/mist

I positioned my TCW Julie Fei-Fan Balzer Mini Punchinella stencil (stars) as shown. I added white matte gesso to my craft mat and used a brush to add it to my stencil randomally in the corner. Dont try to make it perfect. It looks better messy!

gesso

I flicked some teal, orange and black mist over the paper from the top left corner diagonally to the bottom right corner.. Then I added teal mist to the top left corner in areas areas with my finger as shown. I stamped stars and arrow stamp with black Staz-On. Added some washi tape as shown. Then I adhered enamel dots, a star strip of paper, and an arrow vellum sticker all included in the in the kit. I doodled with my black pen and added an Evalicious Flair Badge!

corner close up

To start the main portion of the LO, I gathered my orange paint dauber, my black pen and my TCW Julie Fei-Fan Balzer Wonky Circles stencil . I laid down my stencil and traced the stencil with my black pen. .

wonky circles/pen

Then I added orange paint in the circles and took my black pen and doodled around the circles:

orange paint

Now here’s where I get excited and forget to continue taking pics! I add some teal and orange paint in patches with my finger. I started layering it up with washi tape, arrow stamp with black Staz-On, star teal paper strip. Then I randomally added white gesso with my brush over the layout. Dont be perfect, don’t stress about it. If you realize you added too much, dip your clean brush in water and thin it out. Just have fun with it!!!!

I matted my pic on a SC journaling card (in the kit) and doodled around it to make it look like a polaroid.I  added an Ali Edwards stamp to the bottom. I grabbed another journaling card and ripped it and added gesso to the orange edge to tone down the bright color. I added gesso to a teal paper strip and got some tags that I had left over from the Paperie June kit and inked/gessoed/painted them up. I Layered up the tags, paper, photo and cards as shown without adding adhesive. I figured out where I wanted to add the star stamps, and removed the layers. I added my stamps and then began adhering my layers.

I added some doodling and added gesso in places. I adhered the enamel dots, the flair, arrow vellum sticker and the doodled chipboard star (from the june kit too!). I then added my title using the block letters from the Feb kit and the leftover black AMY TAN thickers from the June kit. I added my journaling to the bottom of the pic on the card as shown.

Here are some close ups to see the detail:

cool close up1

cool2

cool3

cool 4

My hubby is always trying to make me laugh. Sometimes he puts on his sunglasses and starts talking like the wrestler, Macho Man Randy Savage. “All you need is a good pair of glasses…oooo yeah!” If you grew up in the 80’s you know exactly what I’m talking about!

And here is the completed layout:

mr cool

Easier than you think!!!! So give it a try on your next layout. If you have any questions on the techniques I used, ask me in the comments section and I will get back to you as soon as I can. I would also love to see some mixed media layouts that you create. Paste a link in the comments section to your gallery/blog/website so I can see it!!

And to end my post here is a little sneak of something I’m working on:

atlantis closeup

 

10 thoughts on “The Making of a “cool” Layout

  1. Oh, love the instructions Lori – I have to use my stencil for a stencil some day soon. LOL!!!! Love all the paint and mess. This layout is 100% awesome!!

    • Thanks Karen!!! Wish I took more pics of the step by step process but when my creativity flows its hard to remember to grab the camera!

  2. Stunning layout! I love all the layers that you’ve made without it looking over the top. Thanks for your tutorial too – it was really good to see how you made the layout. TFS X

Leave a Reply

