Longing for Summer

Summer seems so far away. As I write this blog post I can hear the motor of a snowblower going outside, knowing that when I get out of bed and walk over to the window all I will see will be a blanket of white. Well maybe more than a blanket…probally a few inches of cold wet heavy snow *sigh*.

To boost my mood I decided to blog today about a summery layout I done in 2012, before I started my blog 5 months ago.  I decided to link up with Ashli Oliver (aka soapHOUSE mama) for a Layout Love Linky. Check out her blog here for more details and link up your LO to her blog by midnight tonight for a chance to win an awesome prize.

I used the June 2012 Paperie Club Kit called “Snap Happy”  to do this LO. It contains lots of summery goodies from the Dear Lizzy Neopolitian line and Amy Tan’s Sketchbook line, with a few other goodies like stars from Studio Calico, Sparklers from Websters Pages and some awesome  tags from Poppies and Peonies Donna Downey line by Prima.

june-2012-2 snap happy

Here is the LO I created with this kit called “SUMMER”. Its a pic of my friend Joanie and myself on summer vacation in Montreal at LaRonde Amusement Park.

summer- Lori Smith -itsabouttimeblogspot.wordpress.com

I used The Crafters Workshop chicken wire stencil and yellow mist to create the honey comb pattern. Then I used  their chevron stencil and my black PITT pen to color the chevrons in a scribbly pattern.The stamp and wood veneers are from Studio Calico. I added a  film strip from Ranger/Tim Holtz to the center of the LO and completed the LO by adding some doodling around the LO.

I have a few more LO’s I created using this kit I will reveal in a future post. Check out some other layouts made with this kit from design team members Rae Lynn O’Keefe & Wendy Skinner on the Paperie blog .

Have a great day and thanks for looking!!

Lori

19 thoughts on “Longing for Summer

    • Thanks Julie. I love using mist and ink on my layouts. I have always paid close attention to detail in my layouts. Check back again and see the CROP CIRCLES blog hop post using lots of mist ink,paint and multi mediums. Thanks for looking!!!

  1. I stopped by for the CROP CIRCLES HOP…. I’m hopping along.. not sure if this is the right thread.. but did wanna say.. I LOVE this layout!! and using chicken wire.. what a great flippin idea!! who would of thunk!!!!!! lol sometimes the simple little things just never pop into my head!! GREAT IDEA.. gonna keep that one!! Thanks for Sharing
    Sherry

    • The Crop Circles post is live now if you want to pop by and check it out. Thanks for the comments on the SUMMER LO. The Chicken wire is actually a stencil but I’m sure regular chicken wire would be totally awesome! Thanks for looking!!!

    • Thanks Rexene!! I love hexagons. I did a LO for a page kit for the Paperie Retreat in November. I did a blog post on it if you want to check it out!Thanks for stopping by!!!

  2. Pingback: The Making of a “cool” Layout | It's About Time…

  3. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Love this page by our Paperie Design Team member Lori, using one of my favourite Paperie Kist to date from June. Check out her blog, it’s chock-full of inspiration!

  4. Pingback: Super Scrapper! | It's About Time…

Leave a Reply

