Eclectic Love- LO #3 Roa’s Rapids

Here is the 3rd Layout I designed for February Paperie Club Kit, Eclectic Love, called “Roa’s Rapids”. If any of you have ventured to Orlando Floridia and went to Aquatica (Sea World’s water park) you know what Roa’s Rapids are. You put on a life vest and you wade in to a huge man made rushing water river. It is very relaxing just floating in the river (well occasionally you would get splased by the water spouts along the way-especially if you were not expecting it!). I had my waterproof camera with me during the “ride” and got a few pics of us (and a few water droplets on the lens!). It was a lot of fun!

paperie club kit feb 2013 lori smith layout 3 roas rapids

For those of you who scrap with me, you know I rarely use more than 3 pics on a single page LO. I love white space and the more pics I have on a LO the less whitespace I have- which is completely out of my comfort zone! However, I had 8 pics I wanted to have on this LO, and I was determined to do it! And to top it off, I used a dark CS background (gasp!). I usually like white or light CS and lightly patterened PP for my backgrounds, Another challenge for me. But I was up for a challenge!

I took the blue CS in the kit and misted it with Chalk Tattered Angels Chalkboard Glimmer Mist and Goosebumps Texture Spray:

goosebumps &glimmer mist

Then it took me what seemed like forever to arrange my photos (was even considering abandoning the 8 pics and hiding some behind a flip card). I then decided to add the Studio Calico Journaling card behind the photo of me and S.  Before the “commit and stick” began, I added a strip of PP and orange chevron washi tape to the base of my rows of photos and a few riped pieces to the top left and side. OK, that wasn’t so bad after all! Then I began to Embelish my LO. I love this October Afternoon Midway paper. It looks like beach balls and i had to use it! I got my circle punch and started punching out the circles:

oa midway paper

To add dimension, I used pop dots to adhere the circles. I then added the SC vellum arrows. I wanted to add some flair that came with the kit. I choose the striped one:

new-studio-calico-darling-dear-badges-flair-800x800

Then I decided to add some stamps to my LO. I had some Technique Tuesday Ali Edwards stamps and found the perfect one from this set called “Its OK”. I thought the stamp that said “GO WITH THE FLOW” was perfect! So I stamped it on one of the pics with Black Staz On:

IMG_9918

While looking through my Technique Tuesday  Ali Edwards stamps I found this NEW set I bought the day before called “Fun Flair”. The light bulb went off in my head and there was an immediate rush for the black Staz On and my striped SC flair button! I took the “fun” stamp, inked it with Staz On and stamped it on the plain striped flair!!!  Ta-DAAAAAAAA!!!!!

ali sc flair

I then added some doodling with my white Uni Ball pen on the top of the strip of photos and in scribbles by the journaling card and in the upper left corner. I also colored my arrows with the white pen:

IMG_9919

I added a speech balloon from the October afternoon washi tape in the kit. I added my journaling with my Black PITT pen. I then added my title. I used the Basic Grey Konichiwa letter stickers that came with the kit and sanded them with my sanding tool. I added them to the LO and added some dots to the letters with my white pen:

IMG_9915

Here is a close up of the faux water droplets created by the goosebumps:

IMG_9922

So that’s how I scrapped outside my comfort zone!!!

In the next post I will tell you how I did  Layout #4 “Just a little bit of MAGIC” (probally the quickest LO I have ever done!!!) GASP!!!

Lori

8 thoughts on “Eclectic Love- LO #3 Roa’s Rapids

    • Thanks Cheryl!!! The Paperie has the goosebumps- regular and the shimmer one!!! I love the texture for layouts with water. I also used it on the “We Got Soaked” LO in a previous post.. I love the Ali Edwards set. I also stamp it on PP and use the Epiphany epoxy caps to make my own flair!!!

    • Thanks Em!!! Can’t wait to see what you come up with!!! I’ll probally be using it again in the near future!!!

  1. Pingback: The Making of a “cool” Layout | It's About Time…

  2. Pingback: Time to Catch Up | It's About Time…

Leave a Reply

