Eclectic Love Post #2

I’m back again with another layout using the Paperie February Club Kit “Eclectic Love” . I had lots of fun making this layout because it involves lots of inky messy goodness!!!

One of my favourite scrapbookers/artists is Anna-Maria Wolniak. Her work is absolutely amazing and I am so ispired by her use of mixed media on her layouts. This LO was inspired by by a layout of hers called Centre Pompidou.

Here is the layout titled “Best Friends”. It’s a tribute to my best friend Karen who introduced me to scrapbooking in 2004. paperie club kit feb 2013 lori smith layout best friends

I started with a white CS background. I gathered my Ranger Tim Holtz Pumice Stone Distress Ink Pad & Blending Tool, and the Punchinella stencil designed by Julie Fei-Fan Balzer for TCW. I added some tape to the back of my white CS and stuck it to my Ranger Craft Sheet. (I love my Ranger Craft Sheet! It protects my table from my inky messiness and its heat resistant!).

I then positioned the honeycomb part of the stencil on the CS where I wanted to add my ink. (NOTE: to make the stencil the width I wanted, with a straight edge, I taped a strip of paper to the top and bottom of the stencil acting as a mask). I taped the stencil down with a small amount of washi tape. I did this to prevent the paper and stencil from moving. Next I added Pumice Stone distress ink to my Ink Blending Tool and moved the blending tool over the stencil carefully and in a circular movement. When finished, remove all tape to reveal a crisp image!

stencil and ink

I gathered my Witch’s Brew October Afternoon Sprinkler (green), my Peppermint Studio Calico Mister Huey (red), my Seven Seas Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist (teal), my MME Follow Your Heart Be Amazing stamp set, my Ranger Jet Black Archival Ink and my clear stamp block. I added the 3 misters in separate areas on my craft sheet. Using my finger I added the inks in areas to the paper as shown below. I added a big glob of red and blew on the ink on the CS to make a runny pattern. I also removed the spray nozzle from each of the mists and flicked it to create some drips as shown. I inked up my arrow stamp and added it as shown. Love it!!!

mist, ink and stamp

I laid my LO and craft sheet to the side,and gathered my craft knife & cutting mat. I took one of the Studio Calico Darling Dear Journaling Cards included in the kit, and used my craft knife to cut out the heart in the corner. I adhered the card to my layout and put the heart to the side to use later. Here is the pic below after I cut it out.

IMAG1490

I gathered my TCW mini Squircle stencil and taped it to my LO. Using my Jet Black Archival ink and ink blending tool I added ink to the stencil as shown. IMAG1492

The journaling card has a glossy finish so make sure the ink dries thoroughly before proceeding. Here is what it looks like:

IMAG1493

I backed my photo with SC Garbo (black Camera paper) and added washi tape (see full LO for placement of washi) I adhered pop dots to the back of the cut-out heart and placed it on the LO as shown. I grabbed my fine black Faber Castell PITT pen and added faux “stitching” around the heart.

embelish

I added ink with my finger in patches as shown below and added a few flicks of mist droplets to my LO. I also drew faux threads with my PITT pen. I added my title using the Konichiwa Basic Grey Letter Stickers that came in the kit. I added the MME enamel dots and Bo Bunny enamel hearts that came with the kit.

ink

At the bottom of the LO, I added washi tape, enamel dots/hearts and a SC Darling Dear Flair Badge that came with the kit. I punched out a heart with my punch and added it to the layout. I added some faux thread and outlined the heart and letters in my title with my PITT pen. I stamped that fabulous arrow stamp again at the bottom.

IMAG1498

I added the Vellum Die cuts to my LO. The arrow in the upper right hand corner was colored with my distress markers. I cut the “smile” speech baloon from the October Afternoon Midway Washi tape and placed it on the LO (see full LO for final placement)

vellum

Finally I put glossy accents to the red letters in my title:

IMAG1504

Hope you like this LO and learned a few new techniques!!! In my next post I will tell you how I did Layout #3 “Roa’s Rapids”

enjoy!

LORI

4 thoughts on “Eclectic Love Post #2

  1. Pingback: The Making of a “cool” Layout | It's About Time…

  2. Pingback: Time to Catch Up | It's About Time…

Leave a Reply

